Labour Unions Kick Against N27, 000 Minimum Wage Proposals

January 23, 2019

The Nigeria Labour Congress and Trade Union Congress have rejected the N27, 000 adopted by the National Council of State as new minimum wage for workers.

NLC General Secretary, Dr Peter Ozo-Eson, made this known in Abuja while speaking with newsmen.

Ozo-Eson noted that the council has no jurisdiction to determine another amount after a Tripartite Committee had submitted its report.

He said: “It is abysmal of government to be delaying the submission of an Executive Bill to the National Assembly and by wrongfully adopting N27,000 through the council of state.”

He further disclosed that the NLC had called an emergency National Executive Council meeting for Friday to weigh on the deadline given to the government within which to submit an executive bill to the National Assembly.

He added that the Federal Government was only projecting a shutdown of the economy with its latest action.

“This is because workers should not be held responsible for any development after its NEC meeting on Friday,” he said.

Similarly, the Trade Union Congress of Nigeria rejected the NCS recommendation that the national monthly minimum wage be raised to N27, 000 from N18, 000.

The Union which represents senior civil servants, said agreeing a minimum wage was a product of negotiations and that N30,000 had been agreed on and not N27,000.

Late Tuesday, it was report that the National Council of State fixed N27, 000 as the new National Minimum Wage.

This is contrary to the recommendations of the Tripartite Committee on Review of National Minimum Wage chaired by a former Head of Service of the Federation, Ms Amma Pepple that N30, 000 should be the new minimum wage for workers.

Majority of state governors had said they could only afford N22, 500 while the Federal Government had also said it would pay N24, 000.

After Tuesday’s meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari, the NCS after reviewing the positions of all the parties pegged the minimum wage at N27, 000 across the states. The Federal Government said it would pay workers N30, 000.

But, the private sector is at liberty to pay any amount to workers, so long as it is not below N27, 000.

The membership of the council comprises the President (who is the Chairman); Vice-President (who is the Deputy Chairman); all former Presidents/former Heads of the Government of the Federation; all former Chief Justices of Nigeria; President of the Senate; Speaker of the House of Representatives; all the governors of the states of the Federation; and the Attorney-General of the Federation.

The former leaders, who attended Tuesday’s meeting were former President Olusegun Obasanjo; former Head of Interim National Government, Chief Ernest Shonekan; Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar (retd.); and former President Goodluck Jonathan.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply